Just Like My Summer

Just Like My Summer….

 

Autumn has passed and yet the leaves keep falling, clouds keep rolling,

persistent rain assumes her fragrant light patters,

as I stare from these lonely windows.

 

A solitary glance addicts to these dark sullen skies,

whilst grey matter thoughts of never wanting to move forward

keeps the wolf from my door and the cold from moving in.

 

I can smile from the inside, whilst outside

I’m cold, abrasive and changeable,

It’s here I sit from a chair of warmth, letting my demons fight themselves,

awaiting a Spring chorus from a horizon of nowhere,

to release me from an impending Winter coma,

of never-ending Monday’s and short weekends.

 

No let up yet, as leaves keep falling (tears keep falling),

slow, melancholic and weightless in grace,

they dance in a soft elegance

of declining red, brown and yellow waves

not wanting to be the first to die,

just like my summer….

 

autumn,color,heart,leaves,rain,raindrops-6b05942e0600dc5dc627fb691329cb19_h

 

 

© Nick Hawkins, 6/1/15 all rights reserved

 

Leave a Reply

