Grimpen Mire (My Hell)

For I cannot walk the Grimpen Mire,

over the moors I call my home,

I cannot bear to hear my breath,

above the hound that hunts alone.

I cannot scent the skeins of life,

tracking my heavy footsteps light,

to wear me down for food of thought,

this is where I lie tonight.

 

For I cannot cry for minutes left,

when its seconds I need to save,

resting moors of dark descents,

in these sodden Dartmoor graves.

A cry for help, a waning moon,

a warming tolerant Fox Tor fire,

burning slow through to the morrow’s dawn,

upon this, my Grimpen Mire.

 

count-magnus-latest-285x400

 

©Nick Hawkins, all poetry rights reserved

 

Leave a Reply

