Goodnight

‘Goodnight’
 
And there you were hiding amongst the roses, quiet and refrained in a blossoming light.
 
Petals are fragile at the best of times and I never wish to let one descend without trying to prevent its fall
 
It’s been a good day for me and I hope dusk holds off for a while so we can mull over garden gossip, before you slip off to bed
 
Your fragrance and mirth give me the strength to make my way home, once again beauty has lead me to the place I need to be
 
Love, long nights and life mean everything and never shall ‘taken for granted’ be spoken in vain
 
Goodnight……..
 
5640464554_03d1db55f1_z
 
© Nick Hawkins 17/7/14, all poetry rights reserved
Leave a Reply

